Great news for those who grew up during the 90s!

Happy, happy; joy joy!

I’m overwhelmed with happiness! The first curious thing from the web will be a thing which took me back to my childhood. If you are like me, that is, one of the people who’d actually had a childhood, with the fun and games and dirt and everything included, then you’ve probably spent hours in front of the Nickelodeon channel, watching your (our) favourite cartoons.

“Okay, I did, but why is that important now? Have you lost the calendar? The 90s are over. It’s 2015, for God’s sakes!”, you’re probably grumping.

Whoa, whoa, whoa. Don’t run before you can walk, and listen to what’s actually going on.

Apparently, a few days ago, all social media were struck by the news about Nickelodeon launching a new channel, The Splat.

The rumor grew in intensity after Nickelodeon had posted this video titled “The Splat Is Coming” on Sunday:

“The Splat, so what? What’s so special about The Splat?”, you may be wondering.

As you may have guessed from the video by now, what would make this channel stand out from the crowd can bring back smile to the faces of twenty-somethings who were growing up in the 1990s. If you are one of the people whose favourite cartoons included Ren and Stimpy, CatDog, Rugrats, Rocket Power, Hey Arnold!, Angry Beavers, The Wild Thornberrys, Rocko’s Modern Life and Aaahh!!! Real Monsters, all being broadcasted on the Nick channel, then you are in luck, because the boys are* back in town.

This news was also announced during this year’s 90s Fest. See the coincidence – the 90s cartoons channel announced at the 90s Fest. So smart, isn’t it?

However, the situation concerning this retro channel has changed a bit.

*As it turned out, The Splat is actually not going to be a separate channel, but a dedicated airing time on the US Nickelodeon channel, starting October 2015, from 10 pm until 6 am.

At first, this second piece of news made me sad a bit, since it wasn’t really what I had expected. Honestly, I’ve already imagined myself spending the entire Saturday morning in my pyjamas, watching Rugrats and Arnold during my well-deserved rest time. (Really mature, right? I’m a twenty-something-year-old, having a real job and everything, but I still enjoy watching cartoons, but I can’t help it. That’s a part of my personality. Geez, I hope I’m not the only one in the world.)

On the other hand, when I continued thinking about it, I realized something very important. NICKELODEON IS ACTUALLY GOING TO AIR MY FAVOURITE CHILDHOOD CARTOONS when I get back from work and prepare myself for rest. AND, since I am an early bird (I go jogging before work), I’m going to watch those cartoons while preparing myself for morning exercise or having breakfast before work.

Having all the aforementioned in mind, my final conclusion is the following: this isn’t that bad after all.

I’ll get the chance to go back to my childhood before and after I do my grown-up responsibilities. I see this as a win-win situation.

Now back to you. What do you think about this news (that has changed a bit in the mean time)? Are you going to watch The Splat, too? (Please tell me that I’m not the only kid in grown-up’s shoes.) And of course, what were your favourite Nick cartoons during your childhood?

Here you can leave your curious thing from the web