The Internet of Things 2016 Announcement

You’ve probably heard of this in the past couple of years. The Internet of Things came to us like a storm which made our lives richer with wondering about what the future will be like.

Even though it is a bit Utopian a concept (but with the meaning of Eutopia, or the ideal, good world, with a positive connotation), it sounds to me rather acceptable — but the question of where the line will be drawn between our privacy and things being controlled by artificial intelligence?

Let’s contemplate.

What is the Internet of Things?

smart_home-2-1024x573

I’m not going to copy and paste the definition of the Internet of Things straight from Wikipedia or some other reliable source because I found it rather difficult to comprehend the first time I’ve read it, so I’m going to explain it in my words — at least how I get it (IF I got it right).

So, the Internet of Things is the world of Tomorrow in which all devices and physical things are connected via the Internet, that enables us to control them from long distance. These electronic devices would be, naturally, smart and they would be able to communicate with one another, gathering data about our habits (just like Siri and Cortana are doing at the moment on our iPhones and Microsoft devices) and predicting our future acts.

Sounds amazing, right?

But is it so indeed?

1984 all over again or carefree future?

1984-book-cover

During my studies, one of my favourite books was 1984 (sorry Ulysses, for not mentioning you, but you know you are my one and only, true love), a dystopian novel, written by George Orwell in 1948 and published in 1949. I loved the Utopian novel course and this experience made me re-think the concept of the Internet of Things (IoT for future reference).

Connecting across all devices.

To some, this may sound like a carefree future, but to others, like me, it sounds like a world of slavery. No matter if you call it Big Brother or Apple TV – the point is the same: it will control your life.

We are already controlled by mobile devices – for that matter, Steve Cutts has an amazing series of illustrations which portray our day-to-day lives and are up to the point (or bullseye, if you prefer it that way -just google “Modern World Caricature Steve Cutts”) – so much that we’ve practically become zombies who cannot control themselves not to check our statuses and news feed for three freaking minutes (yes, I’m referring to the toilet time).

 

steve-cutts-1
Who is taking whom for a walk?

 

Will we become the slaves of technology, not being able to do things on our own? Will laziness pervade?

I do not want to live in that world.

What about you?

(I’m actually thinking about renouncing the IoT — and renaming this blog post into Renouncement. Let me know what you think.)

Here you can leave your curious thing from the web

